Sign in to follow this  
Sodom404

MMA fighter size difference vs Judoka or Pure Wrestling

I'm fairly new to watching MMA and was wondering a couple things

1. I notice there is a difference in size in most top mma fighters compared to top heavyweights Judoka (teddy riner) or Pure wrestling (Karelin) like in the olympics? Why are all the best heavyweights in mma seem to be around 240-245 (look what Cain (6'0 240) did in his prime or Fedor, DC, JDS and not 290 monsters guys who are like 6'8 290+ like Teddy Riner who dominate Judoka. Is it because MMA heavyweights need more Cardio or speed instead of pure power or what? Sorry for sounding like a newb i have been wondering this. 
I know there is a weight limit in the UFC but not sure there would be much of a difference even if they removed the weight limit. 

2. What is the best or perfect size for a heavyweight in your opinion and how would Teddy Riner do against smaller heavyweights like DC, Cain in there primes or if he he trained in MMA?

Thanks!

Here is a picture of Teddy Riner
https://www.reddit.com/r/MMA/comments/byfgp5/mma_heavyweights_size_vs_judoka_or_wrestling/

There is a 265 limit & big guys it's rare for them to be very skilled. The really big guys there's a point where the power, strength size has diminishing returns especially because they rely on it. What good is all that power, strength, size if you can't move as well & apply it. After about 3-6 minutes it's kinda useless against a slightly smaller skilled HW & often a detriment. 

The perfect size HW is around 240 ish because it's about the right weight for a balance of skill set, size etc.. Too big & you're relying on KO power or sheer size/strength to man handle people and that's only gonna work for so long if at all against top ranked HW's. In MMA one the most important things in any class is to be able to apply sustained pressure without wasting energy or at least avoid the opponent from doing the same.