Sign in to follow this  
legionarivs6

Tell me why I shouldn't become a cop

I am a Caucasian male, but I'm also fluent in three languages. I'm asking because I'm a uni student right now and I really don't know what I want to do, but I've always admired cops and I've always imagined it must be a really exhilarating job.

Its a good job if you're ready for the challenges.

- High stress

- Long hours

- Potentially life threatening situations daily

- Like 6-8 months of training you must pass

- Little to no respect from like half the citizens you meet

- While you're able to use your discretion, sometime you must write people "unjust tickets" for minor offenses

- If you live where you work, you have situations where you must arrest/ticket/warn friends and family

- Can be very straining on relationships (Wife, friends, family, children)

- Enforce laws you may not personally agree with

- LEO's tend to have a higher percentage for things like depression, alcoholism, anger issues

Yeah. I feel it must also be one of those jobs where you actually BECOME your profession. I wouldn't want to become some hard a$$ that doesn't know how to let loose and mess around once in a while.

Kinda like, you're either on one side of the law or the other. And when you become a cop, you stay with the law.

If you want to die young being a cop in a crime infested city would be entertaining if you like living then be prepared to write bs traffic tickets at all times throughout the day. I will also hate you if you become a cop

Well for starters you would be hated by the vast majority of people that you try to protect' date=' which just seems to be the way it goes.[/quote']

When you see cops abusing their power as our protectors on a daily basis you are prob going to be hated at least a little.