12er's history thread

12еr

So the other day I took the missus to see that Suicide Squad movie-- it was hot garbage by the way-- and during the trailers before the film, they showed this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yM9BWtppzko

I can't wait to see it. However, immediately after the trailer, when it was nice and quiet in the theatre, I heard several people ask "what is Dunkirk'? I almost lost my god damned mind. It was just one more damning indictment of our public education systems.

That said, maybe they don't teach Dunkirk in American high schools. I can't remember. I am an avid student of history, myself. Especially world war 2 history. It occurs to me that there is probably a lot of interesting bits of history from other countries, and here we can share that collective knowledge so we never find ourselves looking like idiotic idiots at the movie theater. 

First up, Dunkirk. This is British history, but I know it well enough. After the Germans invaded France via the lowlands at the beginning of World War 2, they flanked the British Expeditionary Force and French 1st Army and cut them off from other forces in France to the South and defending the Maginot line. About 330K soldiers were cut off with their backs to the sea. The Germans called a halt order, bafflingly, and the French and British forces used that time to dig in and set up defenses while the British government organized a massive evacuation. They sent everything they had, up to and including fishing boats, and within 11 days they managed evacuate the 330K British, French and Belgian troops that were trapped.

France surrendered a couple weeks later, and they had to leave a massive amount of equipment behind which was captured by the Germans. It was still a massive morale boost for the Allies at one of the darkest points of the war. It became known as the miracle of Dunkirk. 

Feel free to add other cool stories from history for everyone's benefit.

it was Hitlers first big blunder