Why you must always tap from a kimura...

Charlie_Fast_Crack

I have recently been training BJJ with a world class practitioner in the UK called Les Allen. He was the first guy from the UK to compete in Pancrase.

Anyway, although I am a black belt in Wado Ryu Karate I am a beginner at Ju Jitsu.

The story goes, i arrived early for training where some of the higher grades were sparring. i was asked to join in if i wanted so thought i may as well. Whilst sparring with les, he put a wicked arm bar on my right arm from guard. I obviously tapped. However i did think 'damn that hurt' good job i tapped when i did.

then it was his turn to pass my guard. he ended up isolating my left arm. i struggled for a bit, then BANG!! an unbelievably loud popping sound. i looked up at him and he had an un-nerving look on his face.

i looked to my left and my arm had been completely snapped at the humerus. it was lifeless just on the mat. the pain was excruciating as you may see from the photo (if uploaded correctly)

i guess the lesson is, when u feel u have no more control over your arm/leg whatever, you sure as hell better tap. it can happen so quickly. now i cant train for a few months which im gutted about.

Anyone any advice? or any other mma/karate/ju jitsu/wrestling etc injury stories?

(also i apologise for the grammar. typing with one hand is hard ha)

I have recently been training BJJ with a world class practitioner in the UK called Les Allen. He was the first guy from the UK to compete in Pancrase.

Anyway' date=' although I am a black belt in Wado Ryu Karate I am a beginner at Ju Jitsu.

The story goes, i arrived early for training where some of the higher grades were sparring. i was asked to join in if i wanted so thought i may as well. Whilst sparring with les, he put a wicked arm bar on my right arm from guard. I obviously tapped. However i did think 'damn that hurt' good job i tapped when i did.