What is an "all American"?

rne

Not being a US resident I have a question that I hope some of the US people can answer.

The commentators regularly refer to some fighters as ?all American?. As they never get described as part American part Chinese, it seems this has nothing to do with nationality, so could someone explain to me what this does refer to please?

Thanks.

Actually it is for basically every extra curricular type of activities at the collegiate/Amatuer level. Hell we even have "All American" chess, badminton, and debaters!

It is best decribed as an "All Star" team at the collegiate level. For most sports the NCAA (National Collegiate Athletics Association) committee for that sport will pick the top performers in each position, weight class, or particular discipline. I am not sure what the particular requirements are for wrasslers but as many "All Americans" as we hear about in MMA it can't be all that difficult.

This is why you have Lesnar with 3 AA selections, and 1 national championship, or Koschek with 4 AA selections but I believe 0 national championships. Being an all American does not necessarily translate into being a National Champion. Honestly being an All American doesn't necessarily mean you are that good, but your school has good lobbyists and you have a big rep in the sport.

We also do this thing in High school called "Who's Who Among American High School Students", which is the academic equivalent of a collegiate All American in athletics, except the parents pay to put the children on the list. They both hold about the same amount of water for me.

Actually it is for basically every extra curricular type of activities at the collegiate/Amatuer level. Hell we even have "All American" chess' date=' badminton, and debaters!