Jackie Chan does not like MMA

freedom

http://fightmarks.com/story.php?title=jackie-chan-does-not-like-mma

"I don't like to see 'ultimate fighting,'" Chan said. "As a martial artist, I find it too violent putting them in a cage. At the end, it's not fighting anymore. That's not the martial arts. Martial arts is about respect. When somebody is knocked down, stop. I really respect Sugar Ray Leonard. Come on, [when a guy is down,] stop. Don't fight. That's not the spirit. When you're down, I'll grab you up. Are you OK? Should we continue? That's the martial arts spirit. That's what I want."

Well, he is a traditional martial artist and I really don't have much of a problem with his comments. Although, I do think he is a bit misled with the amount of violence. But really, Mixed Martial Arts isn't for everyone and especially for those that want to practice the traditional arts.

And really, MMA, is about fighting and not about practicing martial arts in the traditional sense. In martial Arts, it tends to be controlled fighting with a lot of theory behind it. In MMA, you use what works for you. You don't rely on a style or go into a stance. You use what will win you the fight.

Jackie is a bit misinformed with the brutality of MMA. Yes, it looks brutal on tv and can end with someone getting pummeled. However, it has been proven that in the long term that it is much safer to have the fight stopped then to let a fighter get up continuous just to get his head knocked over and over again. Of course, we won't see what the real effects of MMA are on a body until we see fighters retire after doing it their whole life. But really, the amount of punishment boxers take makes mma look like nothing.