Eddie Bravo

Shuberling

Eddie is just promoting the use of no-gi jiu jitsu. He uses the rubber guard as his primary tool to controlling the posture of opponents. I've been working on the rubber guard for 4 months and it's very effective.

Some of the BJJ community is comparable to a fundamentalist christian. So they think that Eddie is trying to end traditional Gi Jiu Jitsu by promoting his own style of No-Gi Jiu Jitsu which is more useful in todays MMA game.

Eddie is just promoting the use of no-gi jiu jitsu. He uses the rubber guard as his primary tool to controlling the posture of opponents. I've been working on the rubber guard for 4 months and it's very effective.

Some of the BJJ community is comparable to a fundamentalist christian. So they think that Eddie is trying to end traditional Gi Jiu Jitsu by promoting his own style of No-Gi Jiu Jitsu which is more useful in todays MMA game.

2 things, 1 ty for the explanation, now i understand, and 2, daaaammn, just realised i put this in wrong section.

Why is he hated by the BJJ community? I heard something like he tried to ruin BJJ by creating his own 'better' style' date=' but he said that was never his intentions, he just started it cause it always helped him against bigger guys.[/quote']

I don't see the point in hating Bravo for his rubber guard. If he is hated, then why doesn't said community hate Greg Jackson for his Guido Jitsu, or Dave Camarillo for his Guerrilla Jiu Jitsu?

Jackson has been hated for a LOOONG time.

And the hatred is going to get worse.

Yeah, anyone who has been competing in Gi Jiu Jitsu would hate these guys. Even though all of their techniques can translate into the Gi. The BJJ community just claim that they are not "inventors" of these techniques and that they have been their for a long time.

Yes' date=' but he's not hated for his personally crafted style of Jiu Jitsu. It is Greg Jackson that has Guido Jitsu, isn't it?[/quote']